top of page
  • Writer's pictureCharlie B

Conversations with Students


My 1981 Christmas card, drawn by son, Craig

I once listed a few of the conversations with students and came across it years later. Some of them are kind of funny but often were a window into the worries and concerns of this age group. Some were living away from home for the first time and didn’t know who to talk to about their worries.Twice a year two or three of us- Archie Johnson, Dr. ken Nickerson a gynaecologist and I ,by invitation, would go for an informal meeting in one of the women’s residences. Usually it was standing room only with a hundred or more girls stacked into the room. There was giggling and some joking around on their part but there was a basic hunger for all sorts of information about themselves and their bodies. Afterward the three of us would adjourn to the Faculty next Club for a well earned drink. I don’t know about the girls but I think that we learned a lot!


So here are excerpts of some of the conversations with students over half a century ago.


  • You’ve got WHAT in your beard ??

  • No, the scar won’t show- at least it shouldn’t !

  • No, I don’t think that a shot of penicillin will help your piles (tiredness) (brittle nails) (runny nose) (dandruff) ( poor appetite)

  • Yes I know that you broke your little toe in 1956 but I still can’t give you a medical parking permit near the rugby pavilion.

  • has your mind ever gone blank before...no, I mean besides after the engineers ball.

  • No I’m afraid that I don’t have pills that only work on weekends. ( the morning after pill came along later)

  • No I don’t think a brain X-ray will improve your marks

  • Oh I see, it’s a sort of funny feeling in your whatchamacallit

  • You were cracking WHAT with your cast ??

  • No, there’s no way I can tell whether you drank your contact lenses

  • Your blood tests are normal. Yes, I know what your medical student boy friend told you

  • No I don’t think that your boy friend will catch it. No, not even if he tries.

  • Crawley things you say...

  • No you don’t have mono. Have you considered that only four hours sleep may be causing your tiredness ?? Twelve vitamin pills a day are unlikely to help.

  • Yes, I’m sure she was swell but we had better check just to be sure....

  • No I’m  sorry but I cant tell you what is the matter with him/her. Yes, I realize you are her/his girlfriend/boyfriend/Professor/room mate/old school pal.

  • well I suppose we could find out whether the Residence kitchens could provide steaks, rye bread, more rice,yoghurt, vegetarian dishes etc. ( this before they provided some vegetarian and gluten free diets)

  • Now  I’m sure that John/Susie/ Billy Joe didn’t mean to hurt your feelings !!

  • No, I do t think hormone cream will help your figure. Isn’t  there something designed for women’s underwear that does that job. ( before the implant era)

  • Are you sure that your Home Economics book said that ? Your parathyroid glands should be working fine. Show me the statement. No that’s the thyroid gland that they are discussing.

  • You don’t look like you are going bald to me. Yes there will be hair on your brush but we normally shed about 80 hairs a day which are replaced in young health people

  • Well there is a special clinic near the hospital and they are very good at tracing there people. No I don’t think that you should go looking yourself

  • Try more fluids and exercise. No, I agree, not everyone likes prunes.

  • No it’s not cancer. It’s just a wart. No it doesn’t mean that your blood is bad.

  • I don’t think a Psychiatrist can tell you which one to go steady with....

  • Well if it worries you maybe you should tell him/her

  • Are you sure that your mother told you that ?

  • Well  if he really did have one of those operations, I’m afraid that it must have been a failure

  • No that’s not a small mole on the base of you eyelash. It’s a louse. Feeling woozy ? Here lie down for a few minutes. Have any others on the football team had problems ?

  • ”But Doctor I cant be pregnant. I’ve never never had sex. I haven’t been more  near a mam”

  • And so It went.



181 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page